Google Analytics Data Retention Update – Don’t Lose Your Data

A new Google Analytics setting will take effect on May 25, 2018, called Data Retention. It allows you to set the amount of time your account will store data from your site.

The default setting for Data Retention will be automatically set for 26 months if you do not turn it off manually. This means user-level and event-level data will be deleted from your Google Analytics server unless you change your settings.

 

How To Turn Off Data Retention

To turn off Data Retention in Google Analytics, follow these six simple steps:

Step 1: Login to your Google Analytics account.

Step 2: If you are managing multiple properties, select which one you wish to modify.

Step 3: Click the Admin button in the lower left-hand corner and you navigate to your settings.

Step 4: In the middle column labeled Property, select Tracking Info then in the drop down select Data Retention.

Step 5: Then where it says User and event data retention select the box that reads 26 months and change it to Do not automatically expire.

Step 6: Lastly, turn of Reset on new activity (this will make sure your data retention settings never get reset) and click Save.

It is important to turn this setting off if you manage a website’s digital marketing. There is value in comparing your current website traffic, behavior, and performance to historical data to gauge for improvement.

Again, these settings take effect May 25, 2018, but make sure you don’t forget and update your settings now.

*Disclaimer: If you are managing a website that operates in the Europe Economic Area (EEA) please consult with your legal department to ensure you are compliant with all requirements of GDPR’s new data protection laws.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.